On this day in pro wrestling history (May 25): Rockers last match in AWA, Tiger Mask wins NWA Jr. Heavyweight gold, Russian amateur wrestler beats Vader

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1957 – Verne Gagne and Edouard Carpentier defeated Nikolai and Boris Volkoff for the Chicago version of the NWA World Tag Team Title in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; At the National Guard Armory in Kansas City, KS; Bobby Bruns beat Wild Red Berry, Richard Brown (son of Orville Brown) beat Joe Costello and Curtis Reed went to a no contest with Black Panther. Orville Brown was the promoter of record.

1959 – Kurt Von Poppenheim and Dan Manoukian defeated Nick Kozak and Al Kashey to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1962 – In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; AWA Champion Mr. M beat Verne Gagne and Doug Gilbert & Pat O’Connor beat Bob Geigel & Don Leo Jonathan

1963 – In St. Paul, Minnesota; Crusher beat Rocky Hamilton in a Missouri Rules Match (Tiny Mills was referee) and Verne Gagne & Doug Gilbert & Don McClarty beat Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Kalmikoff & Waldo Von Erich. Rocky Hamilton was also known as the Missouri Mauler and Larry Hamilton.

1973 – At the International Amphitheater in Chicago, Illinois; Dick the Bruiser & Wahoo McDaniel beat Ernie Ladd & Superstar Billy Graham, Cowboy Bob Ellis beat Blackjack Lanza and Baron Von Raschke beat Sailor Art Thomas.

1976 – Bob Orton, Jr. defeated Jack Brisco to win the Florida Heavyweight Title; at the Civic Center in Omaha, Nebraska; Larry Hennig & Jos Leduc ddq Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke in 3rd fall; Jim Brunzell went to a draw with Blackjack Lanza and Bobby Duncum beat Bull Bullinski.

1978 – At the St. Paul Auditorium; Greg Gagne & Verne Gagne & Jim Brunzell went to a no contest with Nick Bockwinkel & Blackjack Lanza & Bob Orton Jr, Pat Patterson & Ray Stevens beat Steve Olsonoski & Evan Johnson and Rufus R Jones beat Angela Mosca.

1979 – In Denver, Colorado; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Greg Gagne, Super Destroyer Mark II (Sgt. Slaughter) beat The Crusher dq when Crusher removed Mark II’s mask, Mad Dog Vachon beat Bobby Duncum and Jesse Ventura went to a double countout with Paul Ellering.

1980 – Skull Murphy and Gypsy Joe defeated Rocky Johnson and Jimmy Valiant for the AWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee; Mark Lewin defeated Gino Hernandez for the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title in Dallas; Perro Aguayo defeated Gran Hamada in Naucalpan, Mexico to win the UWA World Light Heavyweight Title; The Great Hussan Arab (Iron Sheik) defeated Dewey Robertson (Missing Link) to win the NWA Canadian Heavyweight Title in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

1981 – Kevin Sullivan and Wayne Farris (The Honky Tonk Man) won the AWA Southern Tag Team Championship by defeating Bill Dundee and Dream Machine in Memphis, Tennessee.

1982 – Tiger Mask (Satoru Sayama) defeated Les Thornton to win the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title in Shizuoka, Japan; Steve Grey defeated Jim Breaks for the British Welterweight Title in Croydon, England,

1985 – In Chicago, Illinois; Jerry Blackwell & Sgt. Slaughter beat Road Warrior Animal & Paul Ellering, AWA Champion Rick Martel beat Buddy Roberts (sub King Tonga), Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Fabulous Freebirds Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts via dq, Butch Reed no contest The Crusher, Nick Bockwinkel beat Brad Rheingans, Larry Zbyszko (sub Jim Garvin) beat Baron Von Raschke, Ray Stevens beat Buck Zumhofe and Steve Regal went to a draw with Steve O. Attendance was 5,000.

1987 – Soldat Ustinov & Boris Zukhov defeated Marty Jannetty & Shawn Michaels for the AWA World Tag Team Title in Lake Tahoe, Nevada. This was the Rockers last AWA match before leaving for the WWF.

1989 – Russian amateur wrestling great Salman Hashimikov defeated Big Van Vader for the IWGP Heavyweight Title in Osaka, Japan. On the same show, Jushin Liger defeated Shiro Koshinaka to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title.

1990 – Matt Borne defeated Kerry Von Erich to win the WCWA Texas Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas

1992 – Kenta Kobashi and Tsuyoshi Kikuchi defeated The Can-Am Express (Dan Kroffat and Doug Furnas) to win the AJPW All-Asia Tag Team Title in Miyaga, Japan

1997 – Shawn Michaels & Steve Austin defeated Owen Hart & Davey Boy Smith for the WWF World Tag Team Title in Evansville, Indiana.

1999 – In Moline, Illinois; Jeff Jarrett (w/ Debra) pinned WWF IC Champion the Godfather to win the title

2002 – Steve Corino defeated Danny Doring in a tournament final for the vacant NWA Florida Heavyweight Title in St. Petersburg, Florida.