NJPW reveals G1 Climax 29 participants and blocks

The participants for the 29th G1 Climax tournament have been revealed.

Everyone who declared for the G1 last week got their wish, as KENTA, Jon Moxley, and Shingo Takagi were all announced. ROH’s Jeff Cobb was also announced, taking part in his first G1. New Japan’s biggest stars including IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada, Intercontinental Champion Tetsuya Naito, NEVER Openweight Champion Tomohiro Ishii, Hiroshi Tanahashi, and Kota Ibushi will all return as well.

This year’s Best of the Super Juniors winner Will Ospreay has also been confirmed. He’ll try and make history as the first person to win both tournaments.

The full list of participants is as follows:

Block A:

Kazuchika Okada
Zack Sabre Jr.
Hiroshi Tanahashi
Kota Ibushi
Bad Luck Fale
Lance Archer
Will Ospreay

Block B:

Tetsuya Naito
Tomohiro Ishii
Juice Robinson
Toru Yano
Hirooki Goto
Jay White
Jeff Cobb
Shingo Takagi
Jon Moxley

Tomorrow morning’s Kizuna Road shows will reveal the main events for each G1 card. The tournament starts on July 6 at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas. The finals will take place on August 12 at Budokan Hall.